Why "choosing nail salon software" has no off-the-shelf checklist
Searching for nail salon software mostly turns up comparison lists that name the same row of features for every kind of salon: calendar, online booking, client management. For a hair salon that is a reasonable starting point. For a nail salon it misses the things that actually shape your working day: how long a BIAB set takes compared with gel polish, how you remind a client who is due back in 3 weeks for a refill, and where you record that someone reacted to a product.
Which software is "the best" has no good answer: that depends on how many tables you run, how many appointments you book per month, and what you are missing right now. This guide answers what a nail salon specifically needs to check when choosing software, and what a few concrete providers actually charge per month.
What a nail salon needs differently from a hair salon
Software for nail salons looks like any other booking system at first glance. The difference sits in five things that get overlooked when choosing between options.
Treatment duration per technique
Gel polish, BIAB, acrylic, an infill and a repair all take a different amount of time, and the gap is wide: a new gel polish set takes 60 to 75 minutes, a new BIAB set 75 to 105 minutes, and a new acrylic set 90 to 120 minutes. Schedule everything on the same block and you run over on acrylic while sitting on dead time between gel polish bookings. Software that lets you set a separate duration per service, in whole minutes rather than fixed 15-minute blocks, solves that. The full rates and treatment times per technique, including the gap between a junior and a senior nail technician, are set out in gel, BIAB and acrylic nail prices and treatment times.
Recurring appointments every 3 to 4 weeks
A nail salon lives on repeat visits. Gel polish needs a new appointment every 2 to 3 weeks, BIAB every 3 to 4. Software that lets a client rebook straight after finishing an appointment, or that sends a reminder around the time the previous set is due for replacement, keeps that cycle going without you tracking it in a notebook yourself. How to set the right return interval per treatment is covered in how often should salon clients return.
No-shows
A no-show costs a nail salon relatively more, because the chair sits empty for 60 to 120 minutes on a treatment you cannot resell to anyone else that same day. A clear no-show policy the client sees and agrees to when booking saves an argument afterwards. A full plan for setting up and communicating that policy is in reducing no-shows; the approach is not hair-salon-specific and works the same for a nail salon.
Client notes on allergies and shape or colour
Every set is different: the shape a client wants, the colour from last time, whether they once reacted to a product. That kind of information should not live in your head or on a loose note, but attached to the client so the next nail technician sees it too. Look for software with a free note field on the client page and, just as important, a separate note field per appointment, so you can read back exactly what was done on the previous set.
Online booking
Plenty of nail salons run without a website and schedule through WhatsApp or Instagram DMs. That works until your calendar is full enough that the back-and-forth starts costing noticeable time. A booking link you put in your Instagram bio or turn into a QR code in the studio lets clients pick their own slot without you replying between treatments. How to set that up without a website is covered in taking online bookings without a website.
What nail salon software costs per month
The figures below are what we pulled directly from the providers on 11 September 2026, for a solo nail salon running a single calendar.
| Provider | Entry price per month | Source |
|---|---|---|
| EsSalon, bare licence | 15.95 EUR ex VAT | essalon.nl, 11 Sep 2026 |
| EsSalon, with online booking | 22.90 EUR ex VAT | essalon.nl, 11 Sep 2026 |
| Salonized Appointments | 21 EUR ex VAT | help.salonized.com, 11 Sep 2026 |
| Da Vinci ZZP ONLY | 27.95 EUR, VAT status not stated | dvi.nl, 11 Sep 2026 |
| CelerBook | 0.25 EUR ex VAT per appointment, first 5 free, cap 30 EUR | own rate |
Prices can change; always check the provider's current pricing page. Da Vinci does not state a VAT status on dvi.nl, so that amount is shown here without an ex-VAT claim.
At EsSalon, online booking is not part of the bare licence: it costs 6.95 EUR extra, bringing the total to 22.90 EUR. Salonized charges 5 EUR extra per staff member on Appointments. Da Vinci does not add a per-staff fee past one technician; it moves you to a team plan instead: Team Booking starts at 48.50 EUR paid yearly or 53.50 EUR paid monthly (dvi.nl, 11 September 2026, VAT status not stated).
A worked example for a solo nail salon makes the gap between a fixed subscription and pay-per-appointment concrete:
| Appointments/month | CelerBook | EsSalon bare (15.95) | Salonized Appointments (21) | Da Vinci ZZP ONLY (27.95) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 40 | 8.75 EUR | 15.95 EUR | 21 EUR | 27.95 EUR |
| 80 | 18.75 EUR | 15.95 EUR | 21 EUR | 27.95 EUR |
| 130 | 30 EUR (cap) | 15.95 EUR | 21 EUR | 27.95 EUR |
Indicative, CelerBook amounts based on 0.25 EUR ex VAT after the first 5 free, cap 30 EUR solo.
At 40 appointments a month, not unusual for a starting nail salon running mostly 60 to 75 minute gel polish sets, pay-per-appointment sits clearly below every fixed amount. At 80 appointments, CelerBook and Salonized land close together. Run the numbers further and CelerBook hits its 30 EUR cap at 125 appointments a month, at which point a fixed subscription such as Salonized Appointments (21 EUR) turns out cheaper. EsSalon in its bare form (15.95 EUR, so without online booking) is already cheaper than pay-per-appointment from 69 appointments a month, and with online booking added (22.90 EUR) from 97 appointments.
Costs with multiple tables
Once several nail technicians work at separate tables, the maths changes. Take a studio with 3 nail technicians as an example.
Salonized Appointments with 2 additional staff members lands at 21 plus 2 times 5 EUR, so 31 EUR ex VAT a month. Da Vinci switches you to its team plan, Team Booking, starting at 48.50 EUR paid yearly or 53.50 EUR paid monthly, VAT status not stated on dvi.nl. With CelerBook the cap scales with staff count: 30 EUR plus 5 EUR per additional staff member, so 40 EUR a month with 3 nail technicians, and that is the maximum, not the starting point. In a quiet month with, say, 90 appointments spread across those 3 tables, you would pay 21.25 EUR (5 free plus 85 times 0.25 EUR), well under both the cap and the fixed plans.
The pattern is the same as for a solo studio: the lower and more variable your volume per staff member, the sooner pay-per-appointment wins. The fuller and more stable every technician's calendar, the sooner a fixed subscription lands lower.
Fixed subscription or pay-per-appointment: how to weigh it
A fixed subscription is predictable: you pay the same every month regardless of how busy you are. That fits a nail salon with a full, stable calendar. Pay-per-appointment charges per completed appointment and works out cheaper at low or variable occupancy, such as a starting nail salon, a seasonal practice, or a studio where summer months are noticeably quieter than the rest of the year. Neither model wins every time. The full calculation method and more volume scenarios are in pay-per-booking versus subscription.
Something easy to miss: most fixed subscriptions and pay-per-appointment models both run without a long contract term. The difference is not "contract or no contract", it is how the amount moves with your calendar.
Checklist: choosing in four steps
Step 1: count your appointments. Look at your current calendar, paper or digital, and work out your average appointments per month over the last three months, plus the gap between your quietest and busiest month. That figure decides whether a fixed amount or a pay-per-appointment model is more sensible.
Step 2: test the duration setting. During a trial, create a service for every technique you offer and check whether you can set the duration in whole minutes, and whether you can record a different duration per staff member if you work with a junior and a senior.
Step 3: check the note field. Add a test client with a dummy allergy note and a colour preference, then check whether you can find it again easily at the next appointment without searching.
Step 4: work out the full amount. For a fixed subscription, add the cost of extra staff and any modules such as online booking. Compare that total with what a pay-per-appointment model would cost at your own appointment volume, not the bare entry price.
How to put this in motion starting next week
No rushed switch. A workable plan for the coming weeks.
Week 1: gather your own numbers, average appointments per month and the spread between quiet and busy, plus a list of your techniques with the treatment duration you currently use.
Week 2: request a trial from two or three providers and specifically test the four checklist points above, not just the general feel of the calendar.
Week 3: work out the full monthly amount per provider based on your own appointment volume, including extra staff and modules.
Week 4: make the decision and move your existing clients and upcoming appointments across before you flip the switch.
CelerBook is nail salon software where you set a separate treatment duration per service, keep client notes on the client page and per appointment, and give each nail technician her own calendar and her own price on the same service. Your studio's no-show policy shows on your booking page with a checkbox at booking. Pay-as-you-go from 0.25 EUR ex VAT per completed appointment, the first 5 a month free, cap of 30 EUR plus 5 EUR per additional staff member, no contract. Try CelerBook for free.
